Winners are selected from a group of finalists by an awards committee. Here is a list of past finalists and winners.

Best Paper Award

This award is given to the best paper of the conference.


Asymptotically Optimal Design of Piecewise Cylindrical Robots using Motion Planning
Cenk Baykal, Ron Alterovitz


Joint Optimization of Robot Design and Motion Parameters using the Implicit Function Theorem
Sehoon Ha, Stelian Coros, Alexander Alspach, Joohyung Kim, Katsu Yamane

Learning to Reconstruct 3D Structures for Occupancy Mapping
Vitor Guizilini, Fabio Ramos

Best Student Paper Award

This award is given to the best paper of the conference whose first author is a student.


Improving Slip Prediction on Mars Using Thermal Inertia Measurements
Christopher Cunningham, Issa Nesnas, William Whittaker


Fast Trajectory Optimization for Agile Quadrotor Maneuvers with a Cable-Suspended Payload
Philipp Foehn, Davide Falanga, Naveen Kuppuswamy, Russ Tedrake, Davide Scaramuzza

High-Quality Tabletop Rearrangement with Overhand Grasps: Hardness Results and Fast Methods
Shuai Han, Nicholas Stiffler, Athanasios Krontiris, Kostas Bekris, Jingjin Yu

Best Systems Paper Award in Memory of Seth Teller

This award is given to outstanding systems papers presented at the RSS conference. The awards committee determines each year if a paper of sufficient quality is among the accepted papers and may decide not to give the award. In years when no award is given, the list of finalists will not be disclosed. This award was given for the first time in 2015 (more information).


XPose: Reinventing User Interaction with Flying Cameras
Ziquan Lan, Mohit Shridhar, David Hsu, Shengdong Zhao


An Inductance-Based Sensing System for Bellows-Driven Continuum Joints in Soft Robots
Wyatt Felt, Maria Telleria, Thomas Allen, Gabriel Hein, Jonathan Pompa, Kevin Albert, David Remy

Dynamic Walking on Randomly-Varying Discrete Terrain with One-step Preview
Quan Nguyen, Ayush Agrawal, Xingye Da, William Martin, Hartmut Geyer, Jessy Grizzle, Koushil Sreenath

Outstanding Reviewer Acknowledgement

Reviewers are the life blood of a conference. Although not an award, this acknowledgement provides an opportunity to highlight and thank our most outstanding reviewers nominated by the Area Chairs.

  • Jerom Le Ny
  • Nikolaus Correll
  • Francesco Amigoni
  • Dylan Shell
  • Antonis Argyros
  • David Held
  • Maurice Fallon
  • Leslie Kaelbling